Nothing mentioned, nothing gained

Secrets

Spitfire heart

“Love, not War” – love heart drawn in the sky by two RAF pilots recently returned from tours in Iraq. Air show, Duxford, UK, 2010.

Back when I thought I was in love with you I wanted to know everything about you. Yeats spread his dreams before his love’s feet; I wanted you to spread your secrets before mine, to tread softly or trample upon, save you or destroy you. I wanted power; to posess you completely by knowing what you’d never let anyone else know, to use your secrets to tie you to me forever.

When I only thought I was in love I wanted all your secrets. But I never wanted to give you mine.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2014 by in Fiction, Short Story, Women, Writing and tagged , , , , .
